News / Press Releases

Artist Trust Announces Its 2015 Fellowship and Residency Recipients!

For Immediate Release:

Artist Trust is pleased to announce the 2015 Fellowship recipients and The Millay Colony of the Arts residencies! The following artists were selected for their artistic achievement, dedication to an artistic discipline, and potential for further professional development. 16 artists working in visual arts, emerging fields/cross-disciplinary, performing and traditional/folk arts will each receive $7,500 of unrestricted funds. In addition, Artist Trust has partnered with The Millay Colony for the Arts in upstate New York to award one applicant each in the emerging/cross-disciplinary and visual arts with a one-month residency and a $1,000 stipend. 


Rebecca Cummins (Seattle) / Emerging Fields/Cross-Disciplinary
Antonia Price (Seattle ) / Emerging Fields/Cross-Disciplinary
Michelle de la Vega (Seattle) / Emerging Fields/Cross-Disciplinary
Pam Kuntz (Bellingham) / Performing
Jan Hopkins (Everett) / Traditional/Folk
Humaira Abid (Renton) / Visual
Jesse England (Seattle) / Visual
Tom Gormally (Seattle) / Visual
Gail Grinnell (Seattle) / Visual
Todd Jannausch (Seattle) / Visual
George Rodriguez (Seattle) / Visual
June Sekiguchi (Seattle) / Visual
Phoebe Toland (Vaughn) / Visual
Grace Weston (Seattle) / Visual
Ellen Ziegler (Seattle) / Visual
Nicole Pietrantoni (Walla Walla) / Visual


Michelle de la Vega (Seattle) / Emerging Fields/Cross-Disciplinary
Aaron Haba (Camano Island) / Visual

For more information about the recipients, visit the Artist Trust website at: In addition, artists will be participating in a Meet the Artist event held outside their place of residency, yet within Washington State. The purpose of the Meet the Artist events is to reach out to underserved populations that are not aware of the artist and/or have little access to art. 

Most importantly, Artist Trust is grateful to the following panelists who had the difficult task of reviewing 367 applications and narrowing it down to this year’s recipients:

Abby Aresty (Iowa) / Emerging Fields/Cross-Disciplinary
Rajaa Gharbi (Seattle) / Emerging Fields/Cross-Disciplinary
Bridget Irish (Olympia) / Emerging Fields/Cross-Disciplinary
David Fischer (Tacoma) / Performing
Cyrus Khambatta (Seattle) / Performing
Deems Tsutakawa (Seattle) / Performing
Marvin Oliver (Seattle) / Traditional/Folk
Latha Sambamurti (Redmond) / Traditional/Folk
Deva Yamashiro (Vancouver) / Traditional/Folk
Christina de Roos (Michigan) / Visual
Esther Ervin (Seattle) / Visual
Keiko Hara (Walla Walla) / Visual

This year’s Fellowships are made possible, in part, through generous gifts from: Eve and Chap Alvord, Nancy Alvord, Shari and John Behnke, Michael and Cathy Casteel, Stephanie Ellis-Smith and Douglas Smith, Robert E. Frey, Katharyn Alvord Gerlich, The Klorfine Foundation, Alida and Christopher Latham, Leonard Lewicki, Jon and Mary Shirley Foundation, Catherine Eaton Skinner and David Skinner, and Merrill Wagner and Bob Ryman.
We greatly appreciate our Fellowship program funding partners:, Inc. and ArtsWA.

Other major supporters of Artist Trust include: 4Culture, Paul G. Allen Family Foundation, The Dale and Leslie Chihuly Foundation, Joan Mitchell Foundation, MJ Murdock Charitable Trust, National Endowment for the Arts, Raynier Institute and Foundation, The Seattle Foundation and Seattle Office of Arts and Culture.


About Artist Trust
Artist Trust is a nonprofit organization whose sole mission is to support and encourage individual artists working in all disciplines in order to enrich community life throughout Washington State. Since its founding in 1986, Artist Trust has invested over $10 million in individual artists through grant programs, and provides a comprehensive suite of professional development training and resources to help artists achieve their career goals. Learn more at