News / Press Releases

Artist Trust Announces the 2016 Fellowship and Millay Residency Recipients

For Immediate Release:

Artist Trust is pleased to announce the 2016 Fellowship recipients and The Millay Colony of the Arts residencies. Fourteen artists working in craft, literary, media, and music arts will each receive $7,500. In addition, Artist Trust has partnered with The Millay Colony for the Arts in upstate New York to award one-month residencies and $1,000 stipends to two artists, one in craft and one in media.

The following artists were selected for their artistic excellence, professional accomplishments, and continuing dedication to their discipline:

Byron Au Yong (Seattle) / Music
Jana Brevick (Seattle) / Craft
Bill Carty (Seattle) / Literary
Miles Caudesch (Pullman) / Literary
Marilyn Freeman (Olympia) / Media
Leah Gerrard (Vashon) / Craft
Andrew Hoeppner (Seattle) / Craft
Ramon Isao (Seattle) / Literary
Daniel Kogita a/k/a King Khazm (Seattle) / Music
Robert Lashley (Bellingham) / Literary
Michelle Peñaloza (Seattle) / Literary
Jekeva Phillips (Seattle) / Literary

Che Sehyun (Bellevue) / Music
Nance Van Winckel (Liberty Lake) / Literary

Elliat Graney-Saucke (Seattle) / Media
Barbara De Pirro (Shelton) / Craft

To see the complete profiles of the 2016 Fellowship recipients, click here.

Four discipline-specific panels convened at Artist Trust’s offices in Seattle to review over 350 applications from across Washington State. The panelists for this year’s awards were: 
Sonora Jha (Seattle)
Gary Copeland Lilley (Port Townsend)
Claudia Castro Luna (Seattle)

Michelle de la Vega (Seattle)
Lisa Kinoshita (Tacoma)
Jason Walker (Bellingham)

Mari Ichimasu (Seattle)
Shaun Scott (Seattle)
Jenna Bean Veatch (Bellingham)

Michael Compton (Seattle)
Karli Ingersoll (Spokane)
Tim Lennon (Seattle)

Artist Trust Fellowships and Millay Residencies are merit-based awards given annually to 16 practicing professional artists of exceptional talent and ability living in Washington State. Disciplines rotate each year. In 2016, the eligible disciplines were literature, craft, music, and media. In 2017, the awards will be open to visual, performance, traditional/folk, and emerging fields/cross-disciplinary artists. As part of the award, recipients present a Meet the Artist event to a community in Washington State that has little or no access to art or the artist’s work.

Fellowships are one of Artist Trust’s flagship awards, along with Grants for Artist Projects (GAP). Since the first Fellowships in 1987, Artist Trust has supported over 400 artists across Washington State. Previous recipients include Humaira Abid, Linda Bierds, Victoria Haven, and Paul Rucker.

This year’s Fellowships are made possible, in part, through generous gifts from Eve and Chap Alvord, Nancy Alvord, Shari and John Behnke, Michael and Cathy Casteel, Stephanie Ellis-Smith and Douglas Smith, Robert E. Frey, Katharyn Alvord Gerlich, The Klorfine Foundation, Alida and Christopher Latham, Leonard Lewicki, Jon and Mary Shirley Foundation, Catherine Eaton Skinner and David Skinner, Merrill Wagner and Bob Ryman, and Virginia, Merrill, and Charlie Wright.
We greatly appreciate our Fellowship program funding partners:, Inc. and ArtsWA. Program support provided by ArtsFund.

About Artist Trust
Artist Trust is a nonprofit organization whose sole mission is to support and encourage individual artists working in all disciplines in order to enrich community life throughout Washington State. Since its founding in 1986, Artist Trust has invested over $10 million in individual artists through grant programs, and provides a comprehensive suite of professional development training and resources to help artists achieve their career goals. Learn more at