News / Press Releases

Artist Trust Awards $130,000 to 18 Washington State Artists

For Immediate Release:

Artist Trust is delighted to announce the recipients of the 2012 Irving and Yvonne Twining Humber Award for Lifetime Artistic Achievement and 2012 Fellowships. Selected by independent panelists, these 17 awards total $130,000 in support to individual artists.

Now celebrating its 25th anniversary, Artist Trust has been providing support to artists of Washington State through cash grants since the first Fellowships were awarded in 1988. Grants provide artists with a means to continue exploring their creative paths, and in so doing, enrich all of our lives.

The Irving and Yvonne Twining Humber Award for Lifetime Artistic Achievement awards $10,000 to a Washington State female visual artist, age 60 or over, who has dedicated 25 or more years of her life to creating art. The award, created in 2001 through a generous gift to the Artist Trust Endowment by Irving and Yvonne Humber, recognizes creative excellence, professional accomplishment and dedication to the visual arts. This year 40 applications were received for this award. It is an honor to recognize Pat DeCaro as the 2012 Twining Humber Award recipient.

Artist Trust Fellowships recognize Washington State artists of exceptional talent, demonstrated ability, professional achievement and continuing dedication to an artistic discipline. Fellowship recipients receive a cash award of $7,500. This year 419 Fellowship applications from artists working in the Craft, Literary, Media and Music Arts from around the state were received. The 2012 Recipients are: Literary Arts – Dianne Aprile, Langdon Cook, Samuel Green, Holly Hughes, Judith Kitchen, Matthew Nienow, Erin Pringle-Toungate, Derek Sheffield; Craft – Sheila Klein, Kirk Lang, Rachel Rader, Deborah Schwartzkopf; Media – Webster Crowell*, Chris Jordan; Music – Samantha Boshnack, Jovino Santos Neto.

“We are thrilled to be honoring these accomplished artists, who are so deserving of not just financial support but recognition for the commitment they have made to their artistic endeavors. And we are always thankful to our funding partners for the support they provide in making these awards possible.” – Margit Rankin, Executive Director

Artist Trust is grateful to the panelists that devote considerable time and energy and make difficult decisions in the selection of grant recipients. This year’s panelists were: Irving and Yvonne Twining Humber Award for Lifetime Achievement – Barbara Noah, Lara Evans, Karen Mobley; Fellowship/Literary Arts – Allen Braden, Kevin Miller, Linda Andrews; Fellowship/Music – Robert Spittal, Jonathan Cunningham, Ellen Fullman; Fellowship/Craft – Brad Skubinna, Anne Drew Potter, Bernadette Vielbig; Fellowship/Media Arts – Peter Monahan, Wilson Large, Sandy Cioffi.

This year’s Fellowships are made possible, in part, through generous gifts from: Eve & Chap Alvord, Nancy Alvord, Shari & John Behnke, Paul and Debbi Brainerd, Michael & Cathy Casteel, Anne Devereux and David Mills for the *Gene and Liz Brandzel Fellowship, Katharyn Alvord Gerlich, The Offield Family Foundation, Linda & Jerry Paros, Gladys Rubinstein, The Jon & Mary Shirley Foundation, Catherine Eaton Skinner & David Skinner, Merrill Wagner & Bob Ryman.

Support for the Meet the Artist program comes from Target.

With great appreciation to our Fellowship program funding partners and Washington State Arts Commission.

About Artist Trust
Artist Trust is a nonprofit organization whose sole mission is to support and encourage individual artists working in all disciplines in order to enrich community life throughout Washington State. Since its founding in 1986, Artist Trust has invested over $10 million in individual artists through grant programs, and provides a comprehensive suite of professional development training and resources to help artists achieve their career goals. Learn more at