Apply for the 2019 Arts Innovator Award

Published: September 27, 2018

Categories: Grants & Fellowships

The Arts Innovator Award, funded by the Dale and Leslie Chihuly Foundation, is an unrestricted award of $25,000 given annually to two Washington State artists of any discipline. The award recognizes artists who demonstrate innovation in their art practice. Examples would be artists who are originating new work, experimenting with new ideas, taking risks, and pushing the boundaries in their respective fields.

“As an artist, you can never worry too much about appreciation or validation, but I’ve learned to accept it when and if it does appear. To know that folks believe in my work and want to see me succeed is a phenomenal gift. I will continue to sweat and push and grind in order to pay that belief back. Thank you.”
Quenton Baker, 2018 Arts Innovator Award

View 2019 AIA Guidelines Here.

View 2019 AIA Reference Guide Here.

Type of Award: Merit-based

Number of Awards: 2

Amount Awarded: $25,000

Frequency: Annual

Application Available: October 1, 2018

Preliminary Application Review Deadline: October 22, 2018

Application Deadline: November 12, 2018

Submission Address: Apply online at

Eligible Disciplines: All

Who is Eligible: Artists 18 years of age or older by application deadline; minimum of five years in professional art practice; a Washington State resident at the time of application and payment (payment may be made up to one year after the application date); Generative artists: those who are the originators of a work of art.

Who is NOT Eligible: Previous recipients of the James W. Ray Distinguished Artist or Arts Innovator Awards; recipients of more than one AT grant per calendar year; graduate or undergraduate matriculated students after the deadline date; current AT staff, Board of Trustees, honorary committee, consultants, contractors, current AT Arts Innovator Award panelists or their immediate family.

Panel Information: A panel of artists and arts professionals within and outside Washington State select recipients. Announcement – February 2019.