Artist Trust Announces 2019 Grants for Artist Projects (GAP) Award Recipients

Published: October 21, 2019

Categories: Artists | Featured | Grants & Fellowships

“There are never enough words to express how grateful I am for this support. It inspires me to continue performing and never to give up. Your acknowledgment makes me feel like my work is relevant, and it is a true honor.” – Gina Williams, performing artist and 2019 GAP recipient.

Artist Trust is proud to announce the recipients of its 2019 Grants for Artist Projects (GAP) Award! Sixty-one artists from across Washington State received grants of $1,500 each, totaling $91,500 in funding.

Now in their 31st year, Artist Trust GAP Awards are project-based grants open to Washington State artists of any discipline. They provide support for artist projects, including the development, completion, or presentation of new work. Funding may be used for artist fees, materials, equipment, travel, and many other needs related to an artist’s project.

2019 GAP Recipients 

From top left: 

Beverly Aarons, King County, Media
Ryan Abrahamson, Spokane County, Media
Dakota Alcantara-Camacho, King County, Performing
Shelby Allison, Spokane County, Visual
Monica Arche, King County, Visual
Jack Archibald, Island County, Visual
Rachel Atkins, King County, Performing
Jennifer Berney, Thurston County, Literary
Derek Bourcier, King County, Visual
Sara Brickman, King County, Literary
Vania Bynum, King County, Performing
Etienne Cakpo, King County, Performing
Amanda Caldwell, Spokane County, Visual
Clarissa Callesen, Whatcom County, Visual
Kai Chen, King County, Performing
Emily Counts, King County, Visual
Sienna Dawn, King County, Performing
David Dinnell, Pierce County, Media
Champ Ensminger, King County, Media
Deborah Espinosa, King County, Visual
Olivia Evans, Spokane County, Media
Monique Franklin, King County, Performing
Neely Goniodsky, King County, Media
Jon Gosch, Spokane County, Literary
Beth Harrington, Clark County, Media
Joe Hedges, Whitman County, Visual
Dru Holley, Clark County, Media
Soo Hong, King County, Visual
Sarah Jones, King County, Visual
Margot Kahn, King County, Literary
Shaun Kardinal, King County, Visual
Joshua Kohl, King County, Performing
Adrienne La Faye, King County, Visual
Susie Lee, King County, Performing
Pamela Awana Lee, Whitman County, Visual
Emma Levitt Royer, King County, Visual
Justin Lincoln, Walla Walla County, Media
Chelsea Martin, Spokane County, Literary
Callie McCluskey, Spokane County, Media
Brenda Miller, Whatcom County, Literary
Lauren Moore, King County, Media
Abby Murray, Pierce County, Literary
Arlene Naganawa, King County, Literary
Tamiko Nimura, Pierce County, Literary
Wendy Olseson, Walla Walla County, Literary
Michael O’Neal, King County, Performing
Troy Osaki, King County, Literary
Madeline Ostrander, King County, Literary
Mary Pan, King County, Literary
Katie Prince, King County, Literary
Naeim Rahmani, King County, Performing
Jenny Riffle, King County, Visual
Judy Rose, Clark County, Performing
Ariel Schmidtke, King County, Performing
Jueun Shin, King County, Visual
Black Stax, King County, Performing
Anna Teiche, Kitsap County, Visual
Joey Veltkamp, Kitsap County, Visual
Julia Wald, King County, Visual
Lisa Wells, King County, Literary
Gina Williams, Whatcom County, Performing