Announcing the 2023 GAP Recipients!

Published: October 17, 2023

Categories: Artists | Featured | Grants & Fellowships

2023 Grants for Artists' Progress


We are proud to announce the recipients of the 2023 Grants for Artists’ Progress (GAP)! A total of $97,500 will be directly invested in 65 Washington State artists through unrestricted project-based grants of $1,500 each.

With more applicants than ever before, we are excited to have increased our reach in all corners of our state through this year’s GAP program. We are proud to support these 65 talented artists from 16 different counties and can’t wait to see their impact in communities statewide. 

-Luther Hughes, Artist Trust Program Co-Director

This year’s recipients, selected by a panel of five working artists, represent the most geographically diverse GAP cohort in the award’s 34-year history! Funding will reach artists living and working across all of Washington State, with over seventy-five percent residing outside of King County and over half who identify as BIPOC.


“Being selected as a GAP recipient is an honor that not only contributes needed funding for materials and resources, but it is also an added motivation to the continued development of my creative pursuits and goals. I am grateful for the growth opportunities and positive feedback this award provides.”

-Lindsey Bloomfield, Chelan County Recipient

“Receiving this award is a tremendous honor and a meaningful milestone for my work. It validates my efforts and achievements, inspiring me to continue pushing the boundaries and striving for excellence. This recognition provides a platform to showcase my work, connect with industry professionals, and explore new opportunities.”

-Filmon K. Adelehey, King County Recipient

See the full lists of recipients and panelists below:

2023 GAP Recipients:


Mallory Battista, Visual, Spokane County 

CarliAnn Forthun Bruner, Performing, Spokane County 

Hannah Charlton, Visual, Spokane County 

Madeline McNeill, Performing, Spokane County 

Lourdes Melendez, Visual, Spokane County 

Matthew Platero, Media, Spokane County 

Linda Russo, Literary, Whitman County 

Lenora Lopez Schindler, Visual, Spokane County 

Darryl Singleton, Performing, Whitman County 

Mary Welcome, Visual, Whitman County 

King County

Filmon K. Adelehey, Visual, King County 

Danni Bayo, Performing, King County 

Steph Cao, Visual, King County 

Alma Garcia, Literary, King County 

Gin Hammond, Performing, King County 

Ellaina Lewis, Performing, King County 

Gina Ariko, Visual, King County 

Diane Rodill, Literary, King County 

Fin’es Scott, Visual, King County 

Stephanie Silva Santana, Visual, King County 

Jonathan Soren Davidson, Literary, King County 

Mekela Spence, Visual, King County 

Yongqi Tang, Visual, King County 

Amontaine Aurore Woods, Performing, King County 

Jayme Yen, Visual, King County 

North Central 

Scott Bailey, Visual, Douglas County 

Susan Blair, Literary, Chelan County 

Lindsey Bloomfield, Visual, Chelan County 

Lindsay Breidenthal, Visual, Chelan County 

Susan Donahue, Visual, Okanogan County 

Carly Feddersen, Visual, Chelan County 

Perri Howard, Visual, Okanogan County 

Siri Rose, Visual, Chelan County 

Erin Meehan, Literary, Okanogan County 

Shaila Tenorio, Visual, Okanogan County 

Puget Sound 

Fumi Amano, Visual, Snohomish County 

Kristina Batiste, Visual, Pierce County 

Aimee Chou, Performing, Snohomish County 

Bonnie Hopper, Visual, Pierce County 

Ai-Chun Huang, Visual, Snohomish County 

Bella Kim, Visual, Pierce County 

Camas Logue, Visual, Skagit County 

Salome MC, Media, Snohomish County 

Teruko Nimura, Visual, Pierce County 

Allison Vrbova, Literary, Whatcom County 

South Central 

Crista Ames, Visual, Kittitas County 

Tarra Hall, Visual, Kittitas County 

Randy Hathaway, Performing, Yakima County 

Leebo, Performing, Benton County 

Julee Ryle, Visual, Walla Walla County 

Rob Schlegel, Literary, Walla Walla County 

Karl Schwiesow, Visual, Kittitas County 

Joanna Thomas, Literary, Kittitas County 

Dr. Kendra Wheeler, Performing, Kittitas County 

Jill Widner, Literary, Yakima County 


Hersson Ceballos, Performing, Thurston County 

Caitlin Cook, Literary, Clark County 

Sarah Hunter, Visual, Clark County 

Sophie Loubere, Visual, Jefferson County 

Joey Moran, Visual, Thurston County 

Nhatt Nichols, Literary, Jefferson County 

Karla Nolen, Visual, Jefferson County 

Tanessa Noll, Literary, Mason County 

Maureen Walrath, Visual, Jefferson County 

Danitrius Worthy, Performing, Clark County 

2023 GAP Selection Panelists

Nathan Breedlove, Pierce County  

Tori Karpenko, Okanagan County 

Hanako O’Leary, King County 

Kanako Pooknyw, Thurston County 

Kathryn Smith, Spokane County

Map of Washington State separated by regions

2023 Grants for Artists’ Progress (GAP) are unrestricted project-based grants of $1,500 for artists working in all disciplines across Washington State who are Black, Indigenous, and People of Color (BIPOC) residing in King County, and artists of all backgrounds residing outside King County.

This work was made possible thanks to generous support from Artist Trust’s individual donor community. No public dollars were used to fund this program.

Perri Howard

2023FundingGAPGrantGrant AnnouncementGrants For Artists' ProgressRecipientsStatewide